Lark Rise

Lark Rise to Candleford is a trilogy of novels about the countryside of north-east Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire, at the end of the 19th century.

They were written by Flora Thompson and first published together in 1945.

The stories relate to three communities: the hamlet of Juniper Hill (“Lark Rise”), where Flora grew up; Buckingham (“Candleford”), the nearest town, and the nearby village of Fringford (“Candleford Green”),[1] where Flora got her first job in the Post Office.

The BBC adapted the plays into a television series which started in 2008.


LARK RISE by Keith Dewhurst

adapted from Flora Thompson’s


Directed by

Robert Meadows

Performed 5 June 2012 – 9 June 2012